Feeling a bit gross this morning!

I think I ate and drank too much last night.  My tummy feels a bit seasick- I have food and drink hangover- too much wine, too much good food!

We went to a friends for dinner, and we had cheese with crackers FOR STARTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  A seriously delicious double-cream brie on salty Ritz crackers that we/me demolished.  Followed by actual dinner- a creamy chicken casserole with roasted sweet & regular potato, and steamed veg.  And dessert?  A giant bowl of chocolate in the middle of the table…. topped up…. twice…..  Different kinds, milk, and dark,  including a very tasty Lindt dark chocolate ones with orange pieces in which was divine!  One bottle of white, one of rose, and then we polished off a red too….. between 5 of us….

The rest of yesterday was fairly well behaved, apart from my complete lack of restraint at dinner!

Break – 6.15am – porridge

  • 20g oat bran
  • 200ml skim
  • 10g choc coconut butter

Am snack

  • 150g grapes
  • Roasted pumpkin seeds, in tiny dash of avocado oil and sea salt

 Lunch-  1pm

  • Chorizo and veg frittata

PM snack – 6 small squares Green & Blacks Burnt Toffee chocolate – yum!!!!!!!!

Dinner – At Sam’s house….

Have my horrible meeting rescheduled for today- I figured I’d need some chocolate afterwards, not knowing I would be eating a mountain of the stuff at dinner!  Mostly I ate the good quality, fairly dark chocolate rather than the milk, so there must be some antioxidants in there somewhere…

Lunch was great, love me some egg frittata!  Every few weeks I cook one, and either have it for breakfast or lunch- as I mentioned, it’s great for using up leftovers in the fridge- leftover meat and any veg that needs eating!  Here’s my recipe, it’s super easy, and just adapt it to whatever you have to use.  I will put what I had this time, but it does vary depending on what’s in the fridge:

Egg Frittata

Serves 4

200C oven.

Need

  • 5 eggs
  • Pot of low fat cottage cheese
  • 1 ¼ chorizo sausage
  • Mushrooms
  • Half a bag of spinach
  • Chives
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 2 red chilli’s
  • Sprinkle of onion flakes and smoked paprika, and dash of pepper
  • Low fat cheddar, grated, for topping
  • teaS olive oil

Make

1)      Stirfry onion, garlic and chilli, till softened

2)      Add the chorizo, stirfry for a few minutes

3)      Add the rest of your veg, , stirfry for a few minutes

4)      Wilt spinach in your fry pan at the end.

5)      Meanwhile, in a bowl crack your eggs and whisk up, then add the cottage cheese and any spices.

6)      Pour veg into oven proof dish, and top with the egg mixture.

7)      Mix it all up so veg is all coated thoroughly

8)      Top with your grated cheese.

9)      Bake in 200C oven for about 40 minutes, till cheesy top is lovely and golden and to your liking!

Enjoy! 🙂

Whilst my frittata was in the oven, I did the pumpkin seeds.  Seriously, don’t chuck them away whenever you buy a pumpkin-  they’re high in zinc, magnesium and vitamin B – they’re tasty little powerhouses!  Simply clean them off, pat them dry, and stick in the oven with a tiny bit of oil and seasoning of your choice- easy peasy!  I just love using avocado oil and sea salt on mine, so I haven’t got round to trying any other alternatives yet, but I imagine cinnamon and a bit of honey/brown sugar would make lovely sweet ones, or you could add chilli or curry powder instead for a spicy kick if you prefer.  Roast them for about 10-15 minutes in the 200c oven, and you have a super tasty and healthy snack- not to mention THRIFTY, since they’d have only gone in the bin otherwise! Only just started doing this a couple of months ago, in my attempt to reduce our food waste, and it’s awesome, I always do this now whenever we buy pumpkins.

 

Today’s food will be a bit less naughty as we’re not out for dinner.

Break:  1 x wholegrain toast with peanut butter.

Snacks:  a few grapes and pepitas, feta and Vitawheat lunch slice

Lunch:  frittata and Chobani Greek yogurt.

Dinner is super quick and easy- will be egg and beans on toast as neither me nor the boyfriend can be bothered to cook tonight, nor do we have anything else in the house.  Might sound a bit weird, but I actually really love this dinner, so will be very nice! 🙂

Leave a Reply

