Thing of most importance: freak accident with the wine, or resistance to cheese n crackers? Tricky.

Breakfast – 6.20am:  Oaty quinoa porridge – dash of extra skim.

AM snack:  50g red seedless grapes

Lunch-   Continental plate:  25g brie, 7 Snapz crackers, 20g sundried tomatoes, mini corned beef sandwich using 1 x wholegrain bread + no butter, 1 x carrot in sticks.

Dinner-  Coconut Chicken Stew with Butternut Squash and Quinoa

Here’s the recipe- I adapted it slightly, so this is my version based on what I had in the cupboards/fridge.

Coconut Chicken Stew with Butternut Squash + Quinoa

Serves 6, maybe even 8 the amount I’ve ended up making!!!

Ingredients

  • 450g butternut squash, peeled, seeded + chopped into 1/2-inch pieces (orig recipe said 680g, but I didn’t have this much)
  • 250g sweet potato
  • 3 cups beef stock (I ran out of chicken/veg stock!!)- I must have used about an additional 1L hot water/stock as I used so much extra veg.
  • 1 x chicken breast (198g), shredded
  • 1 x chorizo sausage, chopped into small pieces
  • 20g virgin cold pressed coconut oil (recipe said 1 tbsp olive oil but I thought the coconut oil would make it tastier.  Also, apparently, olive oil isn’t good for cooking, the heat destroys the nutrients, which is not so with coconut oil)
  • 1 1/2 medium onion, chopped
  • 4 cloves garlic (23g), chopped
  • 1 can -420g-ish- chopped tomatoes
  • Tofu – blended into the tomatoes to make it “creamy”- however much you have to spare I suppose- mine needed eating so I used all of it, which was quite a lot.
  • 2/3 cup uncooked quinoa (mine was red quinoa, but doesn’t matter which kind)
  • 40g desicated coconut
  • half bag of spinach
  • Remainder of a yellow capsicum
  • 3 carrots – 327g
  • 47g mushrooms
  • 4 x sticks celery (sorry, forgot to weigh)
  • 176g broccoli (about half a head)
  • 200g sweetcorn (mine was frozen)
  • 1 tsp dried mixed herbs
  • 1/2 teaS saffron
  • Healthy dose of sweet paprika 🙂
  • And chilli flakes

directions

  1. Steam the butternut squash and sweet potato until barely tender.  Remove half + set aside.
  2. Steam the remaining squash/pot until very tender.  Mash this squash with the back of a fork. set aside.
  3. In a large saucepan set over medium heat, add the coconut (olive) oil. Add the onion, garlic and meat,  stirring till golden brown
  4. Add mixed herb and spices, and cook for a few minutes to release flavours.
  5. In the meantime, blend tofu with the can of chopped tomatoes and saffron.
  6. Add the tofumatoes, butternut squash/sweet pot pieces, mash, stock, any additional veg eg capsicum, and any additional seasoning you like.
  7. Add quinoa and stir to combine.  Top up with additional stock if need be.
  8. Bring to a simmer, cover + cook until quinoa cooked, and the sauce has thickened to your liking- mine was about 45 mins-1hr.
  9. At last minute, just before serve, wilt in the spinach.
Serve with basmati rice.  I had 3 heaped tableS of rice.

Was browsing Pinterest the other day and I found this 32 Ways with Quinoa page with loads of yummy looking recipes.  Not so keen on the quinoa oaty porridge thing, won’t be following that specific recipe again, but thought this chicken, butternut squash n quinoa stew looked seriously yum, so thought I’d try it.

Here’s the link for all the quinoa recipes http://www.buzzfeed.com/rachelysanders/ways-to-eat-quinoa-and-succeed-in-life?sub=2068087_1017284

 

8.15pm:  ok, dinner is almost ready, don’t know what it’s going to be like, I think nice.  we shall see.  The boyfriend was working from home today (lucky git), and when I got in he’d made a little welcome home for me- he’d got me a hot water bottle (it’s winter in Aus, and apartments are not designed to hold heat- bloody freezing man!), put my dressing gown out, poured me a glass of red, AND got the cheeses n crackers out to get to perfect temperature- so sweet!

BUT, get me, I resisted the cheese and crackers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  Got on with chopping and cooking, and didn’t eat any of them!  Would have been nice, but since I decided to be a bit more moderate I thought it would not be good if I had any.  And I actually managed to resist, sadly impressed with me right now!  *smug face*

Had a bit of a freak accident with my wine though.  Whilst getting out the basmati rice, an almost empty tupperware of pasta fell out of the cupboard and smashed my half full wine glass- red wine and glass everywhere!!!!!!  So I had to have a southern comfort and coke to make up for my terrible loss.  Seriously though, I’d been nursing that 1 glass of red for about 2 hours, had planned for it to be my only one this evening.  Fate obviously had other plans for me….

9.52pm:  Dinner worked really well!  It was kind of a hodge podge, and very loosely based on the recipe I linked too, but it tasted really delicious and decadent, when it really wasn’t- I’d recommend trying it!  Took quite a while to bubble away, but that was mostly cos I added so much extra veg that I had to add extra water to compensate, which then took longer to simmer down.  Added the coconut as a bit of a spur-of-the-moment thing.  The coconut oil smelt so nice as I was cooking, I thought it might be nice to turn it into a kind of light coconut curryish type dinner, and it worked really well.  The boyf said to make sure I told y’all how yum it was, so there you go, seal of approval from the boyfriend. 🙂

Dessert?  A half shot glass of lemoncello.

 

And I’m done.  Yum.  Don’t know if this counts as over and above “moderate” eating, but it felt pretty damn well behaved for a Friday night!

One response to “Thing of most importance: freak accident with the wine, or resistance to cheese n crackers? Tricky.

  1. Pingback: Baked Acorn Squash w/Kale & Sun-dried Tomatoes- Vegan & Gluten Free | Olive's Pantry

Leave a Reply

