Fast Day 46: I’m back!

Wed 6 Nov 2013

Break – coconut chia pudding – total 136c

  • 400ml Woolworths Homebrand coconut milk = 260c
  • 3 tableS (27g) chia = 120c
  • ½ cup (40g) shredded coconut = 273c
  • teaS cinnamon = 0
  • teaS vanilla essence = 0

653c / 6 portion = 108c

  •  topped with 50g blueberries = 28c

Lunch – giant salad – total 191c

  • 10g spring onion = 3c
  • 88g grated carrot = 28c
  • 98g cherry tomatoes = 18c
  • 36g spinach = 7c
  • 4g coriander = 2c
  • 50g Woolies HB chickpeas = 66c
  • 15g red pepper = 4c
  • 11g green pepper = 2c
  • 170g iceberg lettuce = 17c
  • 117g cucumber = 17c
  • 20ml olive oil = 161c

308 / 2 portion = 154c

  • Plus 15g South Cape marinated goats feta = 37c

Dinner- Chorizo lentil gumbo – total 165c

  • 100g red lentils = 296c
  • 50g pearl barley = 63c
  • 400g can HB chopped tomatoes = 108c
  • 400g can HB kidney beans = 266c
  • 65g spring onion = 20c
  • 248g carrot = 79c
  • 236g sweet potato = 212c
  • 3g coriander = 1c
  • 18g garlic = 26c
  • 97g red pepper = 30c
  • 62g green pepper = 12c
  • 150g HB frozen peas = 141c
  • 127g Primo chorizo = 387c
  • 60g spinach = 12c

Total 1653 / 10 portions = 165c

Fast Day 46 total 492c

 

 

11.48am

Well, it’s been a while since I’ve done one of these, what with my friend’s visit and Halloween.  Finally back to it though and I’m pleased to be back- feeling so bloated from all the food, will be good to get back on track with my weight loss as there has def been some weight gain with all the festivities.  Went swimming yesterday and I was worried I’d sink!!!

Must lose it all in time for Christmas so I can enjoy myself without worrying too much about it.  Have more friends visiting for Christmas, so it’s going to be all about the food and drink even more than normal, so I don’t think I’ll get any proper fasting done whilst they’re here.  They’re here from the 13th Dec till the 3rd Jan which is a long time, which is great as it’ll be so lovely to see them, but not really that great for the waistline or thighs!!!  :-S  When the friend who just visited was here I did try and fast all day till dinner a couple of times as a kind of makeshift fast, but it didn’t work very well as it meant I overate at dinner time/when I got in from work.  I could try it again and see if I’m any better?  Now I know what to expect?  We’ll see.  I can only do that for the first week they’re here anyways as I’ll be at work that week, but after that is Christmas week where it’d be impossible to Fast as we’ll be out and about doing the tourist thing and not eating would look weird!

I am rereading the 5:2 book to inspire and motivate me- it’s always a good refresher to remind yourself about all the other health benefits of fasting!  As well as get some more food ideas as there are recipes at the back- I really should try a few more of those!  Oh speaking of recipes, the coconut chia pudding thing is delicious, mega easy to make, and it makes a couple of days worth of breakies/desserts to keep in the fridge:

Coconut Chia Pudding

  • Can coconut milk
  • 3-4 tableS chia (original recipe says 4, but I ran out!)
  • ½ cup c 40g shredded coconut
  • Cinnamon, to taste (I put a whole teaS)
  • TeaS vanilla essence
  1. Put all ingredients in bowl and mix well.
  2. Put in fridge overnight
  3. The next day the chia will be all swollen up and pudding consistency- enjoy! J

I like mine topped with a bit of fruit such as berries or mango (YUM, coming into season now in Oz!) and some chopped up nuts such as hazelnuts, cashews, almonds- whichever’s in the cupboard.  The nuts adds a nice bit of crunch to the pudding- varying up the texture keeps things interesting.  On this particular fast day I didn’t have enough cals to add nuts this morning, but usually I would.

2.57pm

Hungry-bored, bored-hungry.  Either way, feel like I want to eat.  Won’t do, but want to, feeling the hunger pangs despite having had lunch.  Did have lunch a bit early, 12.40pm…. prob should start trying to push my lunch back again, as late as possible!

Evening

Am not gonna lie, this fast day felt hard, especially the evening!  Annoying bus journey home left me wanting toast with butter to cheer me up, but I couldn’t.  It wasn’t helped by the boyfriend constantly eating.  Like, your food is reheating in the microwave, is it necessary to have a snack to keep you going because you can’t wait the THREE MINUTES it takes to heat up???  And then have a bowl of  cereal after you’ve had dinner?  I was not a happy bunny.  But I did it, first one for a while was always going to feel a bit tough- they’ll get easier!

3 responses to “Fast Day 46: I’m back!

  1. Sometimes you fail but it’s what you do about it. I binged tonight and feel awful but I’m going to accept it and try to do better tomorrow! When the holidays come I would think by that point you will be able to control your appetite. My rule is to just have two bites of everything. With so much food around, 2 bites of everything is quite good. It works well for me at least. I also just try to stay busy and also I focus on my love for fashion and clothing and when I’m focused with it, I don’t wanna eat cause there are all these gorgeous clothes and sales. I would try to center things around other activities like shopping, the movies, etc. so you can stay out of the food environment!! It helps me a great deal! I’m here if you need to vent!

    • I binge eat too sometimes, it happens, as you say, you just got to try and move on and start afresh the next day- try not to let the guilt cause more eating! Hope you’re doing better. My second Fast Day this week was much easier, hope your eating has been easier too!

      With friends here am sure we’ll be out and about a lot, so hopefully that should take the mind off food a bit and the walking around will do us good! Plus will probably spend Christmas Day on the beach- having to wear a bikini in front of people I know is fairly good incentive!!!!!!!!!!

      • Wearing a bikini is always incentive, lol! Yes, I’m doing better on eating and trying to not feel guilty, thus leading to more binging! So far, so good! I’m at 136 today and feel I’m getting closer than ever to my goals! Hope things are going well for you too!!

Leave a Reply

