Fast Day 62: not too shabby!

Tues 4 Feb 2014

 
Break- 6.15am – total 225c
  • 20g oat bran = 74c
  • 200ml skim = 70c
  • 2 dried apricots – 19g = 59c
  • 5g chia seeds = 22c
 
Lunch – 12.45pm – total 109c
  • Tamar Valley greek yog pot – Raspberry = 82c
  • 90g watermelon = 27c
Dinner – beany broth – total 166c
  • 1 cup bean broth (used calories from beef broth) = 17c
  • 10g pork fat I’d saved (used butter calories) = 73c
  • 100g cooked black beans = 132c
  • 100g pearl barley = 127c
  • 100g frozen sweetcorn kernals = 78c
  • 5g garlic = 7c
  • 2g chilli = 1c
  • 121g celery = 1c
  • 100g frozen veg mix = 46c
  • 2 cups water, 2 bay leaves, teaS rosemary, teaS mexican spice = 0
499 / 4 portions = 166c
Fast Day 62 total:  500c
Slightly odd lunch, but who says you gotta have sandwiches or play by the rules?  Food is food, and yogurt and fruit has lots of good nutrients so I don’t mind that my lunch was kinda weird today.  Savoury is prob best, but it filled me up so doesn’t matter too much!
Now, my beany broth soup I am especially proud of!  The only fresh veg we had was celery, 1/2 a red chilli, 1.5 lebanese cucumbers, an aubergine and some cherry tomatoes.  Well the cherry toms n cucumbers are for snacks, and I wasn’t sure what to do with the aubergine (or quite what possessed me to buy it Friday at the supermarket….) so I was basically working with celery here! Also in the fridge was 2 portions of black beans that I’d soaked/boiled up on Friday (1 portion went in the freezer for another day), and just under a cup of my beany stock too, so I decided to make a soup with them as they needed using up too!  Raided round the freezer for some frozen veg, and in the cupboard had some barley, so I made a very filling and nutritious soup with what originally seemed like nothing-  the portion sizes are quite large too!  Fried the chilli n garlic n veg for about 10 mins, added the spice/herbs and stirfried for a couple of mins more, then added my stock, extra water, beans n pearl barley and simmered away for about 30 mins- easy peasy. 🙂
After making this yesterday I decided to go through my recipe books to find something nice to use my aubergine in, as it’s not something we usually buy!  I think I originally bought it because I have a jar of tahini that I have no idea what to do with, and I do like baba ganoush…. so with some of the aubergine I might make a little pot of tasty dip.  But for most of it I am thinking a tomato-y ratatouille type bake with cheesy crispy breadcrumb topping.  Whilst scavenging for the soup I noticed a bag of bread crumbs I’d whizzed up n frozen and since we don’t really eat schnitzel type stuff didn’t know when on earth it was gonna get used- is just sitting there in the freezer hogging up space- so this is perfect!  One of the ratatouille type bake recipes I found had butterbeans in.  Which I don’t have.  But I DO have 2 cans of chickpeas.  For this dish I will have to purchase 2 items – 1 x red pepper and 1 x onion – which I think is not too shabby considering it’ll feed us for at least 2 nights worth of dinners and will use up loads of other foodstuffs in the kitchen!
AFTER THIS I chopped up watermelon for my snacks/lunch, and then chopped up the rind to start my watermelon rind jam.  After chopping up small you cover it with sugar and leaving it overnight in the fridge to go all goopy, and when I checked it this morning it had indeed gone goopy n liquidy.  Just finished dinner now, so let the jam-making begin!  I’ll let you know how it goes- the boyf will have to be the taste test guinea pig, which am sure he won’t mind! 😛
Leave a Reply

