Watermelon Rind Jam

Watermelon Rind Jam

SAM_6914

Pretty huh?  That’s the watermelon rind all cut up into small bit, ready to be made into jam!  The recipe I followed said to keep a little bit of pink on- fine by me cos that made it easier to chop up, and am sure will add to the tastiness of the jam!

Ok, here’s my version of the recipe:

  • rind from 1/4 watermelon – roughly 3 cups = 391g
  • 375g sugar
  • half teaS allspice- optional
  • teaS orange zest- optional.
  1. Chop up rind small, leaving a bit of the pink.  All green bits go in the bin still am afraid!
  2. Put in saucepan, cover with the sugar, and leave overnight covered in clingfilm- this brings all the juices out, so in the morning you’ll have sugary goop.
  3. Bring to boil, add orange zest (or some lemon slices as the original recipe suggested) if using, and some allspice (if using)- simmer/boil for about 1 hours, till reduced and jam like- a splodge on a cold plate should be set and stay as a blob rather than collapses.
  4. Enjoy however you like to eat your jam!

Post Jam-Making – Wed morning

Ok, well, kind of successful and kind of not.  Basically I overcooked it and it ended up being a rock solid crystally mess.  I tried the blob on a cold plate thing, but it still seemed runny so I kept cooking it.  What I now know is that some of it is always going to spread a bit on the plate, but if there’s some wrinkly tension to it still then you’re done.  Jam making is tricky man!!  I saved it a bit by putting the jars in a hot water bath and pouring some boiled water from the kettle into the jam and mashing it all up- this morning it was spreadable so I had a bit on toast, although the rinds themselves were more like crystalised candy….  Oh well, at least its edible, and does taste quite nice, despite being a bit crunchy still!

Next time I shall cook for MUCH LESS TIME, and I think I will chop up my watermelon even smaller, probably food process it, cos the rind holds its shape, so can fall off your toast as they’re big pieces even when cut small.

4 responses to “Watermelon Rind Jam

Leave a Reply

